What information does the application delete from browsers?

Modern browsers have evolved into much more sophisticated systems and offer way more functionality than their predecessors Internet Explorer and Netscape Navigator from way back of the World Wide Web. 


Everyone knows that browsers cache the web pages visited by a user. Local html-pages, images and scrips executed on a web page are getting saved, instead of having to download it again and again on subsequent visits to the website. But with modern browsers’ cache, it’s far more complicated. Suppose Google Chrome uses four different types of cache - static content, media content, web-application data and GPU cache, and the analogous programs are no easier. Every browser’s features include cache clearing, and its periodic cleaning is a logical step toward security. However, in the event of an emergency shutdown, you may not have enough time for that, for example, if there are two or more browsers opened. Panic Button is capable of clearing the cache of all browsers detected in the system.


You may have a slightly different idea about cookies, but you can think of it as a special kind of “personal” cache. They can store user identification data, personal settings and session state. When you don’t have to type in your password again – that’s Cookies’ job. For obvious reasons, this data is much more critical and sensitive and requires a more discerning approach to wiping than ordinary cache.


Still, that’s just a smaller part of what browsers know about you. Browser history, visited page stats, bookmarks, last open pages (after your browser crashes and restarts, it offers to “Restore last session” - it’s a part of the stored data about you), most visited pages, and of course, the passwords saved for the sake of your convenience. All of this data is securely wiped by Panic Button.


Lastly, there is one more thing you should know about your browser. Almost every modern browser offers you to sync data between your devices. It’s hard to resist the buzz when you come home from the office and start at the same place you just finished from. You don’t even have to remember your passwords because it’s all perfectly synchronized. However, these great features come at a price – at the expense of your privacy. Also, if during a browsing session your personal data were deleted, the next time your browser will make sure you have a saved copy downloaded from the cloud storage, considerably simplifying the job for intruders. You don’t have to worry about it either since Panic Button destroys all the locally stored identification data in the cloud storage of your browser. So the next time your browser is loaded, it won’t remember anything about its previous user.

Is this article helpful for you?