What information does the application delete from RAM?

During the system’s startup Panic Button checks if any supported cryptographic or password management products are installed. These products specifically store users’ encryption keys in memory in unencrypted form. As a result, in the event of physical access to RAM’S hardware or its image it’s possible to retrieve keys using special forensics software. Moreover, cryptographic software is unable to prevent unencrypted passwords as well as the content of your opened files from getting cashed as after they opened they are kept in RAM unencrypted too.


When it comes to wiping RAM, Panic Button’s primary task is to delete the keys from RAM safely. Then it blocks the keyboard, the monitor gets turned off, and the operating system shuts down as usual. During shutting down random access memory is cleaned up.

This article was helpful for 3 people. Is this article helpful for you?